A Critical Analysis and Review of Withdrawn Traces Part 5

“Nicky Wire reckons Richey arrived well-prepared for his dealings with psychiatrists, and his use of Equus prior to entering the Priory suggests as much. It also adds to the list of texts Richey referenced dealing with mental hospitals, psychiatry and madness – leading even his sister to question whether he may have willed himself into certain institutions.”101

“The most spiritual human beings, as the strongest, find their happiness where others would find their destruction: in the labyrinth, in severity towards themselves and others, in attempting; their joy lies in self-constraint: with them asceticism becomes nature, need, instinct.”133

“I am afraid of getting older. I am afraid of getting married. Spare me from cooking three meals a day – spare me from the relentless cage of routine and rote. I want to be free… I want, I think, to be omniscient. I think I would like to call myself ‘The girl who wanted to be God.’ Yet if I were not in this body, where would I be – perhaps I am destined to be classified and qualified. But, oh, I cry out against it. I am I – I am powerful – but to what extent? I am I.”184, 185

“Researching this book, we happened across someone who had heard this theory many times. […] We approached her not to enquire after disappearance theories but to find out about an aborted tattooing session that Richey had booked in January 1995.
As we talked, the woman said: ‘Most people think he went to Israel, don’t they?’
‘Do they?’ we asked.
‘Yes, living on a kibbutz.’”216

“A good deal of research points to a connection between beliefs in conspiracy theories and perceived ‘outsiderdom’ or separation from mainstream society. This is especially evident when looking at work on the psychological concept of anomie. Anomie is a sense of social alienation or disconnection, a feeling that one’s own values and beliefs are not represented in broader society. Feelings of anomie have been shown to correlate significantly with beliefs in conspiracy theories in diverse samples.”4

Citations

A Critical Analysis and Review of Withdrawn Traces Part 6 

Supplement: Scans of the photo inserts in Withdrawn Traces + other images for context


Leave a comment