A Critical Analysis And Review of Withdrawn Traces Part 3

“A separatist black nationalist, [Farrakhan] advocated partition from the United States, to be funded by reparations compensating for the country’s history of use and abuse of its black populace. Again, this can be seen as having an association with Richey. Seeking to divorce African-Americans from the rest of the US, Farrakhan demands alimony. With the previous couplets referencing disappearance, exile and separation, the mention of alimony further suggests that Richey may have been considering going his own way.”84

“If the Holy Bible is true, it should be about the way the world is, and that’s what I think my lyrics are about. They speak about the way the world actually is, it doesn’t ignore things, it doesn’t pretend things don’t exist. […] I think it’s perfectly natural to have an interest in the things that are going on around you. If I wrote lyrics constantly about relationships I would think I was walking around with a plastic bag over my head ignoring everything that goes on, pretending things don’t exist.”115

“It looks at the way that society views prostitutes as probably the lowest form of life. But we feel that we’ve prostituted ourselves over the last three or four years, and we think it’s the same in every walk of life. Marlene Dietrich said that she’d been photographed to death. Red Indians believe that every time they’re photographed a little piece of their soul goes. We came to a point where we felt a bit like that. I don’t want to come across like Eddie Vedder or something, because we’ve always made an effort to make our pictures fairly aesthetic. But you come to a point where you think, ‘Why are we doing this?’ It must come with maturity.
There’s a line in there, ‘Tie his hair in bunches, f*** him, call him Rita if you want.’ You can get to a position when you’re in a band where you can virtually do anything you want, in any kind of sick, low form. It’s not something we’ve particularly indulged in, but it is a nasty by-product of being in a group.”199

“I think it is quite personal. A song like ‘Yes’, it’s about self-image and it’s about feeling used. Like, when I lost my virginity it was a definite act, that I was 21, everybody for years and years had been fucking around me, saying how brilliant it was, and I felt like ‘I’m not happy, maybe it is this glorious event that’s gonna change your life’. And so I just deliberately went out and sat in a pub, drank until somebody came up and said ‘Do you want to come back to my house’, and we went back and we fucked – it was very clinical and the next day I felt really bad. I didn’t like it, and that kind of shaped my perspective on things.”245

“He kept trying and trying different combinations but he just couldn’t get it. He was on his own, and he was just fucking well freaked out. Like a puppet with the key taken out of his back. There was no need for him to be freaked out, because he’s got ten thousand fans all screaming his name every night, but he was just so shaky and scared. I remember looking at him and thinking he wasn’t well at all. He just seemed like he didn’t want to be there, didn’t wanna play, didn’t wanna be on tour.”19

“There were a lot of gawpers because Rich had just come out of hospital, and all eyes were on him. […] After the show I spoke to Therapy?’s Andy Cairns and asked him, ‘How’s everything going with the Manics?’ and he just gave me a look that said, ‘Don’t go there.’ When I got to the dressing room to see the band, they didn’t seem as tight as they’d been in the past.”24

Citations

A Critical Analysis and Review of Withdrawn Traces Part 4 

Supplement: Scans of the photo inserts in Withdrawn Traces + other images for context


Leave a comment